NHL Network
This content requires Adobe Flash Player 10

Grand moments

June 4th, 1981
On June 4, 1981, the NHL pays homage to its best and once again, Bob Gainey claims the award he was tailor-made to win. For a fourth straight season since its inception in 1977-78, the Frank J. Selke Trophy is awarded to Gainey as the league’s top defensive forward. To this day, no other player has won the award as often.